Driving under the influence of alcohol or dangerous drugs, also known as DUI, is considered a felony in the United States. The laws on DUI vary from state to state. Let’s take a closer look at the DUI laws in California.
|Image source: drugfree.org|
- Jail time for DUI offenders in California can be as short as four days or as long as 16 months, with fines that can reach as high as $18,000. The period in which a person’s driver’s license can be suspended ranges from a single month to four years.
- The time by which a person’s previous DUI offenses are still valid for reference is 10 years.
- Persons under 21 years old are prohibited from carrying opened alcoholic beverages when they are driving alone. There are exceptions, though, such as work-related driving.
- The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level limit is .079. Higher than that, and it is considered a DUI. For people driving commercial vehicles, using a commercial driver’s license, the BAC limit is .039. For drivers under 18 years old, having any BAC is considered DUI.
- Persons under the age of 21 are prohibited from taking alcohol, cough syrup, and prescription drugs when driving.
- The BAC limit for repeat offenders is .009.
- The implied consent law in California means that a driver can be fined and have his or her license suspended if he or she refuses a chemical test.
|Image source: uberpeople.net|